EN
UKRAINE – STARTUP AND
TECHNOLOGY NEWS

Instructions on how to delete or temporarily disable an Instagram account

It is not possible to delete your Instagram account through the mobile app. The AIN.UA editorial team explains how to temporarily deactivate or permanently delete your profile. Below are step-by-step instructions on how to do this.

How to temporarily disable your account

You can delete an Instagram profile only in the web version or via your phone browser.

  1. To temporarily disable your account, open the profile page in the browser and click Edit profile.
  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and select Temporarily disable my account.
  3. Instagram will ask you to indicate the reason for disabling your account – please select from the drop-down list and confirm the action by entering a password.
Pictures in the article: AIN.UA

The temporarily deleted profile will be hidden from other users. To reactivate the page, you need to log in again using the Instagram app or web version. Please note that you can disable an account no more than once a week.

How to permanently delete an Instagram account

It’s a bit more complicated to delete the page permanently. You can go to the Deletion page by clicking this link or using the following instructions:

Using your phone:

  1. On the Instagram app, go to the Settings menu and click Help.
  2. Go to the Help Center and click Manage Your Account (or type ‘Delete Account’ in the search bar).
  3. Select Delete Your Account and open the ‘How do I delete my Instagram account?’ tab.
  4. Instagram will prompt you to go to the deletion page in the ‘To request the permanent deletion of your account‘ instruction block.
  5. Indicate the reason for deleting your account by selecting the appropriate option from the drop-down list and clicking Finish.
  6. Confirm the action by entering your password.
  7. Your Instagram account has been deleted.

Through the web version:

  1. On the Instagram.com website, in the lower horizontal menu click Help.
  2. In the Help Center menu, go to Manage Your Account and then click Delete Your Account.
  3. Instagram will prompt you to go to the deletion page in the ‘To request the permanent deletion of your account‘ instruction block.
  4. Indicate the reason for deleting your account by selecting the appropriate option from the drop-down list and clicking the finish button.
  5. Confirm the action by entering your password.
  6. Your Instagram account has been deleted.

It should be noted that after you have confirmed the deletion of the page, the profile will still be visible on Instagram for another month. Thus, the data can be restored by re-logging into the system. To do this, just enter the profile name and password. If you do not do it within a month, your account will be automatically permanently deleted.

In 2021, Instagram announced that it was taking the LIKE hiding experiment to a global level. AIN.UA noticed the option in its personal Instagram profile and shared how to hide the likes counter. Read more about this in our article.

Search